Song Of Jonah


help me dry these tears away
by simply telling me you’ll stay
afraid to lose now that I hold
this treasured soul none can be sold

when he comes will you choose to go
leave this moment we both know
when he promises to dry your tears
will my caress not make it clear

if your heart have made up so
please close the door before you go
and gently kiss the night away
to let me know I had you some way

but if you choose to stay with me
will my heart rejoice and sing?
oh, how lovely that day would be
when all the chimes and bells would ring

but dear heart the choice is yours
let not my lamentations alter
for what is it to me if I have you
when you choose to love the other true

just let this song pass away
though you’re in my heart each night and day
this help ease my pain somehow
so I could write not a poem of sorrow.

Leave a Reply

