Overture to Finale


I heard some claps
and sometimes boo
sometimes there’s nothing
it makes me woe

curtains wide open
lights are dimming
the place is in darkness
except for the spotlight

it’s watching

waiting

and draining

me.

I feel like laughing
I feel like crying
am I a jester?
or performer?

I had my recital
I had my versions
had been with the orchestra
and did my rendition

what more should I give?
any else to pretend?

please close the curtains
turn off the spotlight
it’s time for the backstage

please

no more limelight.

remove the mask
tear the dresses
let me scream
as the dawn

ceases.

4 thoughts on “Overture to Finale

Leave a Reply

