For the Love of Spanish


On my way to the airport, I overheard a mother-daughter conversation behind me in the van. They were speaking in mix languages – local dialect, English but mostly Spanish. My ears just couldn’t resist listening to their conversation in Spanish trying to understand what they’re talking about – which most of it I understand.

Their conversation made me smile. “I really have to pursue formal education of the Spanish language!” I said to myself. I used to listen to Spanish songs; studied idiot’s guide to Spanish and some interactive CD’s, but my knowledge is not enough. I can compose sentences and paragraphs not without grammatical error. How can I go and live in my dream place when in the first place I don’t know how to speak the language? Haha. So, I promise myself to take Spanish language this summer.

I want to live in Barcelona. I don’t know but this Spanish thing has some connection deep in me that I wanted so much to be in that place. I think my soulmate lives there that is why I am not married yet. Hahaha. Or maybe because of my past (I’m not talking about reincarnation hehe).Of course, that includes the most romantic language (at least for me) and the arrogant people. Haha.  A foreign exchange student of mine from Colombia once said, it’s better to live in Latin American countries than in Spain. She said they are aristocrats, arrogant and proud. They feel that they are a superior race. Well, I can’t blame her. There is so much in the history of the Spanish people who made them what they are now.

So here’s my resolution:

  1. Take formal Spanish education this summer.
  2. Study religiously the Spanish books I bought. (that is if I have enough time)
  3. Practice speaking and writing in Spanish. And,
  4. Establish connection with online Spanish-speaking friends.

Hopefully, this year I can already speak Spanish well.

Any other possible suggestions?

Leave a comment